Sunday, October 31, 2010

Graves Mountain All-Star Jam (Rural Rhythm 55 year Celebration Live Album)

If you are a fan of good old bluegrass music and live festivals, this is definitely for you. The event took place June 4, 2010 at the Graves Mountain Festival of Music in Syria, Virginia. This is beautiful ,rural Virginia, in the foothills of The Blueridge Mountains. I have spent a lot of time camping near this area and I love it.(Celebrating 55 Years of Bluegrass Music)




Many great Bluegrass bands were involved and they played lots of traditional bluegrass. Musicians involved were Russell Moore and Third Tyme Out, The Crowe Brothers, Lonesome River Band. Mark Newton, Carrie Hassler, Brand New Strings, Carl Jackson, Lou Reid and Carolina, Audie Blaylock and Redline, a very natural live recording with musicians from different bands joining each other on different songs. The Emcee was Kyle Cantrell of Sirius-XM radio.



Songwise, personally I really loved "Grave's Mountain Memories" written by Carl Jackson, who was asked to write the song by Sam Passamano, in commemoration of the event, "55 year Celebration". It just exudes Hi-lonesome bluegrass and He does an excellent job of telling about the festival and the History of The Graves Family too. Performed by the Rural Rhythm All-Stars, Carl Jackson, Mark Newton, Audie Blaylock, Lou Reid, Russell Moore, Sammy Shelor, Mike Hartgrove, Wayne Benson, Mike Anglin plus special kudos to Carrie Hassler for adding female backup vocals to so many songs. The song has a beautiful melody, and the chorus is off the meter with the excellent harmonies. It's a song that stays in your head, unless you like grunge music.



What is evident at the event is the pure joy that the artists have in playing and singing together. These folk are clearly enjoying themselves and that is what music should be about.



Sound engineering was handled by Gene Daniell who has 30 years experience in recording Bluegrass and Acoustic performances. He was helped by Mark Newton in mixing, mastering process done at his own studio in Marietta ,Georgia. Produced by Sam Passamano Jr. and Mark Newton.



President of Rural Rhythm Records, Sam Passamano Jr. has a real heart for bluegrass music and was responsible for putting this together. One of the top pure bluegrass labels , this 55 year celebration shares the vision of Bluegrass music. If you visit RR's website, the music is split into traditional Bluegrass, and contemporary bluegrass. He cares for it all. Also, has a Christian Division.



Over the last couple of years I have reviewed CDs by most of these bands and they put out a real good sounding CD. But, I think they all sound better live. The High Lonesome harmonies are sweet, and there are so many folk singing on some of the tracks. There is a lot more music where this came from, They wanted to get what they thought most special and best out first. These twelve songs represent all of the artists involved, (I'm pretty sure). But I hear there are hours of audio and also video. How neat ,would a DVD be?

But, let us not get ahead of things. These songs however give you a real feel for real bluegrass. A combination of songs which are vocal and instrumental, it is a special recording.



"Ground Speed" by the RR All-Stars with Sammy Shelar and Carl Jackson featured on banjo is really good. "Old Dangerfield" is another great instrumental by Audie Blaylocks band and Wayne Benson on fiddle. There is some remarkable playing going on by these excellent players. A couple of more vocal standouts are "Head Over Heels" by Carrie Hassler with Brand New Strings, with special guest Brandon Rickman. Also, The Crowe Brothers sound really good with the Lonesome River Band on "Roll In My Sweet Baby's Arms".



Well, more words are not really going to do this music justice, please check it out.



http://www.ruralrhythm.com/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8RJyX4faB8

Friday, October 15, 2010

"That Just Happened" - Mountain Heart - A Review

Search Amazon.com for Mountain HeartMountain Heart has created a very creative acoustic rock recording with lots of influences. Josh's vocals are very rich, and can be easily mistaken for Vince Gill on a slow ballad. This recording sounds a lot like a live album, though I know there are several overdubs.




The cookin' "That Just Happened" starts the disc out , with several people helping out, especially on vocals. sounds a bit like Seatrain on Steroids, like it rocks, in it's acoustic way. If you heard it this summer, like I did, I think that you would agree. Love Van Cleve's fiddle tones, and the B3 organ. Eddie Bayers' Drums really add a lot to the whole CD. He is a real pro and has played on so many big records, it would be hard to count. Some neat bass notes rumble in the mix by Jason Moore. For an acoustic recording, this is real loud, but there is no distortion or problems.



There are some Bluegrass purists that really do not like what groups like the "Infamous Stringdusters", "Punch Brothers" and "Mountain Heart" are doing to bluegrass. They are just playing their style of it , that is all. On the other hand, this summer, purists like Del Coury welcomed Mountain Heart with open hands to his festival. Also, one of Bluegrass's best guitarists "Tony Rice" played several shows with them this year. Bryan Sutton plays on several songs, can't forget him, I think that I like his playing on "Whipping Post" best. Well, it took a bit longer than expected to get out, but there are seven excellent songs on the EP. Only available at their website store.



www.mountainheart.com



By The Way, The Artwork on the CD and the Cardboard cover is excellent. There are four original and three cover songs on the EP. The version of the "Ride" is the best that I have ever heard, I really listened to what Josh was singing and the song really hit me with a whole new light. The version of "Whipping Post" is quite awesome too, Making these classic electric songs acoustic was a great idea, plus the group takes the music to different places than before. Josh's "Even If It Breaks My Heart" is my favorite original song, I loved that song from when I first heard them do it in concert.

Thursday, October 14, 2010

Jones Appears on Talk Show To Support New Book

Jones appears on talk show to support new book


My Country: 50 Musicians on God,

America & the Songs They Love

Nashville, TN – Country music has always played a huge role in the story of American culture, but never has country music—in all its forms—been more of-the-moment than right now. Capturing this moment is award-winning photographer, Melanie Dunea. For her new book, Dunea focuses her camera lens on the musical form most intrinsically linked to American identity- country music. In MY COUNTRY: 50 Musicians on God, America & The Songs They Love, Dunea explores the world of country music, from its gritty roots to today’s country-pop.



The book profiles 50 country music icons and includes Dunea’s stunning and highly imaginative portraits of each, shot in locations from the Grand Ole Opry to a decommissioned prison in Tennessee to the shores of the Caribbean. Alongside each portrait are a series of questions which explore the artist’s musical roots and inspirations, their defining moments, and what makes country music the heart and soul of America to them. The answers offer a revealing, highly personal look at these iconic subjects.

George Jones knew he wanted to be a country musician when he first heard Hank Williams on the radio. For Shelby Lynn there’s never been any other option: “No, that’s all I’ve ever done. It’s the most natural thing. It’s like breathing.”



Barbara Mandrell wishes she had written “Battle Hymn of the Republic.” Rosanne Cash, “Hey Porter.”



Had they not been country singers, Little Jimmy Dickens would have been a jockey “not a disc jockey, just a jockey”; Dwight Yoakam would have been an industrial designer “My inclination is to design things, although I lack the formal training. I’ve always been a fan of Raymond Loewy and Coco Chanel.” Gretchen Wilson, a forensics expert and Crystal Gale would have joined the FBI.



When asked if he could thank god in person for one thing, the notorious David Allan Coe replied “I’m not sure that I believe in the God that you’re wanting me to think of.”



Kenny Chesney describes his ultimate musical experience: “A behind-closed-doors jam session in Jamaica with Bob Marley and the original Wailers…”

Also included in the book are playlists of each artists’ five favorite songs of all time—gathered together, for the first time ever.



Among the other musicians featured in MY COUNTRY are: Brad Paisley, Carrie Underwood, Jimmy Wayne, Julianne Hough, Lee Ann Womack, Martina McBride, Reba McEntire, Randy Travis, Vince Gill, Shelby Lynn, Clint Black, Wynonna Judd, Trisha Yearwood, George Jones, plus many more.



About the Author:

Melanie Dunea has photographed the most influential and powerful people in the public eye. Her photographs are regularly published in magazines such as Town and Country, Vanity Fair, People, Gourmet, Newsweek, New York, Redbook and Ladies Home Journal. She is also the author of My Last Supper. Dunea resides in New York City.





Media contacts:



For George Jones

Webster & Associates Public Relations / 615-777-6995 x230

Kirt Webster / kirt@websterpr.com

Sunday, October 10, 2010

Mountain Heart EP In The Mail - Order Today!!

Mountain Heart has a new EP waiting for you to order at their website store!!!

Mountain Heart Site

"The Foundation" (Cracker Barrel Version) - Zac Brown Band - a Review

For a long time, I had been fighting this guys material, Like, who is he? Covering all this stuff and sounding like Charlie Daniels. Doing Southern Rock in his shows.

Zac Brown quit his job cooking in the Family restaurant in Atlanta to start a musical career. He started out just by himself singing and playing guitar. One by one ,He added members to his group. This is his third CD i think, the First one on a major Label. What I am listening to is what won me over for good. There is a short fiddle intro and then the song starts, I used to see this video on GAC all of the time, The song is Free, The video shows the ZBB on a visit to Iraq and follows them around and they do a show for the troups. For me , this is tops, it is a real sacrifice to make a trip to Iraq, but they looked comfortable and the song is beautiful.

Alan Jackson's cohort for many years, Keith Stegall helps him produce this CD. Brown insists that their music is Southern, not country, now there are places in the CD that I can pick that up, but face it folks, "chicken pickin' is chickin' pickin'". Talking about, "Chicken Fried" is a classic song that just begs a listen, full of great hooks and melodies. I really love a song that they do called "Mary". It is about someone who is letting him down. Between him and his lead guitar player, the song has some really great guitar pickin', his classical type guitar gives out a different vibe, but he makes it work. It is a custom Taylor, made for him. He really can play well as does his whole band.

"Different Kind Of Find" goes into some southern rock on the lead guitar, this recording has a real live vibe. His band really has their own signature on their sound and they are southern folk that make you feel at home. When I first watched him, I just did not trust him. He seemed a bit aloof, I think that is, just him. After watching much footage of him, he seems to be a real downhome type of guy.

Bonus coverage - What makes this Foundation different is the addition of three cover songs that they do live. They do a Band like version of "The Night They Drove Ole Dixie Down", The vocals are just great, lots of emotion and energy put into it. Then they do a Lucinda Williams song, "I lost It" For the last song is a very moving version of Dylan's "I Shall Be Released." Another awesome rendition with an incredible slide break, ala Duane Allman , I mean the phrasing, everything sounds just like He is in the House. Man, can this guy play some guitar. Zac sings this really well with help from his band.

Well, this was a very enjoyable review. This CD is plain good, plus , the bonus stuff. Now if I play my cards right, the good thing about reviewing for Cracker Barrel is that if they like your review, you might get a gift certificate for yourself and a friend for a meal, not a chintzy meal, but like whatever you want to eat. Zac ,also has some things in the store , like a cookbook and a couple of sauces "Southern Ground Grub".

--
God Is Good
www.countrystarsonline.com
www.countryreviews.blogspot.com

Friday, October 08, 2010

Rural Rhythms Records has Big Release Out too "Live @ Graves Mountain"

Search Amazon.com for Rural Rhythms RecordsTHE ALL-STAR JAM – LIVE AT GRAVES MOUNTAIN was recorded on June 4, 2010 at the 18th Annual Graves Mountain Festival of Music in Syria, Virginia. This special day in Bluegrass was celebrated with performances by six chart-topping artists including: Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out, Lonesome River Band, Lou Reid & Carolina, Carrie Hassler, Audie Blaylock and Redline, and The Crowe Brothers; along with a few special guests: Carl Jackson, Mark Newton, Brand New Strings, and marvelously emceed by popular Sirius-XM radio personality Kyle Cantrell.

“It was an inspired—magical, day of music at Graves Mountain when these songs were recorded….In this idyllic setting, it seemed that all the elements were in place for a perfect bluegrass experience, and that’s exactly what we all had. I was honored to have gotten to participate.”
– Kyle Cantrell, Sirius-XM Satellite Radio

This album contains those very special times throughout the day where the artists performed in an All-Star ensemble to create one-of-a-kind performances never before heard live or in the studio. THE ALL-STAR JAM – LIVE AT GRAVES MOUNTAIN is a special commemorative album celebrating Bluegrass music and family traditions which have been passed down through many generations and still hold an important meaning in our lives today.

“It was a great day of music and camaraderie and I believe the songs contained on this CD have captured some very special moments that took place on stage between the artists and the fans and between the artists themselves!”
- RUSSELL MOORE

“It was like a homecoming with our fellow Rural Rhythm artists that we’ll always remember.”
- SAMMY SHELOR

“… I hope you enjoy the songs that Rural Rhythm artists have scrambled together in different configurations for a once in a lifetime event.”
- LOU REID

“It has been an honor to be a part of something so magical. Just to share the stage with so many wonderful and talented people was a dream come true for me.”
- CARRIE HASSLER

“…It’s like in the last line in the verse of the song “Graves Mountain Memories” by our brother Carl Jackson says, “Where making friends and keeping people are the words that you live by” That’s what bluegrass music is all about.”
-MARK NEWTON

“When you do something long enough you get to know and see a lot of people, in our case usually in passing, so to have all these people in one place for the day and be able to interact musically is something that doesn’t happen very often, we had a blast!” – AUDIE BLAYLOCK

“We had a great time working with our long time friends Sammy Shelor and Lonesome River Band and Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out,” – THE CROWE BROTHERS

Executive Producer: Sam Passamano, Jr.
Producer & Production Coordinator: Mark Newton

TRACKS:
MORE PRETTY GIRLS THAN ONE – The Crowe Brothers with Russell Moore, Sammy Shelor and Mike Hartgrove
HOLD WHATCHA GOT – Lonesome River Band with Audie Blaylock
LONESOME RIVER – Lou Reid & Carolina with Russell Moore
OLD DANGERFIELD – Audie Blaylock & Redline with Wayne Benson
GRAVES MOUNTAIN MEMORIES – Rural Rhythm All-Stars: Carl Jackson, Mark Newton, Audie Blaylock, Lou Reid, Russell Moore, Carrie Hassler, Sammy Shelor, Mike Hartgrove, Wayne Benson
HEAD OVER HEELS – Carrie Hassler with Brand New Strings and special guest Brandon Rickman
ONCE MORE – Audie Blaylock & Redline with special guests Russell Moore and Lou Reid
GROUND SPEED – Rural Rhythm All-Stars: Sammy Shelor, Carl Jackson, Brandon Rickman, Wayne Benson, Mike Hartgrove
HEN I STOP DREAMING – The Crowe Brothers with special guests Russell Moore and Sammy Shelor
GET IN LINE BROTHER – Audie Blaylock & Redline with Russell Moore and Carrie Hassler
HOME SWEET HOME – Rural Rhythm All-Stars: Sammy Shelor, Carl Jackson, Brandon Rickman,Wayne Benson, Mike Hartgrove
ROLL IN MY SWEET BABY’S ARMS – Lonesome River Band with special guests Josh Crowe and Wayne Crow

LABEL: RURAL RHYTHM RECORDS
ARTIST: VARIOUS ARTIST
TITLE: THE ALL-STAR JAM - Live at Graves Mountain
FORMAT: CD
CD NUMBER: RUR-1073
LIST PRICE: $15.98
UPC: 7-3235-11073-2-8



RECORD LABEL:
Rural Rhythm Records
Radio Contact: Sammy Passamano, III Email

RADIO - AIRPLAY DIRECT

I can't Wait to hear this one!!!

New "Mountain Heart" EP is shipping

Search Amazon.com for Mountain HeartPurchase securely here:
It is finally here!
The long awaited Mountain Heart EP entitled "That Just Happened" will hit the street on Tuesday, October 12, 2010.
This 7 cut album is filled with surprises and several super-star guest appearances.
Go to the MH store page (www.mountainheart.com) and you can pre-order you copy today!
It will also be available starting on street date, October 12'th at all French's Shoes & Boots locations in Tennessee. French's is the official clothing partner of Mountain Heart.
French's locations stocking the new album:
French's Shoes & Boots
1268 2'nd Ave.
Nashville, TN 37201
615-736-2934

French's Shoes & Boots
1837 South Church Street
Murfreesboro, TN 37130
615-893-6005

French's Shoes & Boots
1271 South Walnut Street
Cookeville, TN 38501
931-528-2779

Crossville Boot
78 North Main Street
Crossville, TN 38555
931-456-1100

French's Shoes & Boots
328 5'th Ave. North
Franklin, TN 37064
615-599-6965

French's Shoes & Boots
738 Madison Street
Shelbyville, TN 37160
931-684-2230

French's Shoes & Boots
117 North Main Street
Crossville, TN 38555
931-484-2236

French's Shoes & Boots
2327 Hwy 465
Dickson, TN 37055
615-446-0634

And check out the newly added tour dates listed on www.mountainheart.com that begin our "That Just Happened" 2010-11 Tour!
Hope you enjoy the new music and we hope to see you on the road soon!
Purchase securely here:





Upcoming Shows/Events:

Date:Location:Venue:Ticket Price:
Oct 16, 2010Little Rock, ARWildwood Park For The... (map)n/a (buy)Details >>
Nov 06, 2010Polk City, FLSertoma MUsic Ranch (map)n/a (buy)Details >>
Nov 13, 2010Fischer, TXFischer Hall (map)n/a Details >>
Dec 04, 2010Walhalla, SCWalhalla Civic Auditorium (map)n/a (buy)Details >>
Aug 05, 2011East Hartford, CTMartin Park (map)Tickets TBD Details >>

Full show/event calendar >>




----------------------------------------

Thursday, October 07, 2010

The Judds To "Flip The Switch" On The Opry's Signature Barn As Opry Continues support in Fight Against Breast Cancer

THE JUDDS TO “FLIP THE SWITCH” ON THE OPRY’S SIGNATURE BARN AS “OPRY GOES PINK” FOR THE SECOND YEAR IN SUPPORT OF THE FIGHT AGAINST BREAST CANCER
NASHVILLE, Tenn. (Oct. 7, 2010) – Wynonna & Naomi – The Judds – will make a special appearance at The Grand Ole Opry in support of Women Rock For The Cure™ and Susan G. Komen for the Cure in the fight against breast cancer on Friday, Oct. 15. The 5-time GRAMMY award-winning duo will “flip the switch” to help the Opry’s signature barn backdrop turn pink for its second annual “Opry Goes Pink” show.

FOX News anchor Greta Van Susteren will be on hand as a guest announcer for a portion of the night’s show, including The Judds introduction to the audience. In addition to The Judds, the show will include performances by John Anderson, Joey + Rory, Marty Stuart, and others as well as special activities recognizing breast cancer survivors and the continuing fight against the disease.

When fans mention the code OPRYPINK when ordering tickets via telephone (800-SEE-OPRY) or enter the same code when purchasing tickets online (opry.com), $5 from the sale of those tickets will be donated to Women Rock For The Cure and the Greater Nashville affiliate of Susan G. Komen for the Cure. Pink Packages including Opry tickets, a meet and greet with The Judds, and a Judds-autographed “Opry Goes Pink” print (package components dependent upon price level), are also available benefiting the two charities. Package information can be found at opry.com.

About The Judds
Kentucky natives The Judds are one of the most successful country music duos of all time – amassing 14 number-one hits and more than 60 industry awards including multiple CMA, ACM and GRAMMY awards. After launching their career with Curb/RCA Records in 1984, The Judds sold 20 million albums in just six short years. By 1989, The Judds were one of the top-grossing and most popular touring acts in America. But at the height of their career, Naomi Judd announced she would have to retire from the music business due to health complications. To say goodbye to their fans, they launched the 116-city Judds Farewell Tour selling more concert tickets than anyone that year with the exception of The Grateful Dead and The Rolling Stones. Nearly 10 years after Naomi’s health turned around, the pair reunited on Dec. 31, 1999, for a New Year’s gala performance, and a reunion tour in 2000. They came together again at last year’s 2009 CMA Music Festival and captivated the massive audience with their homespun, acoustic harmonies that felt as revelatory as they did when they first shot onto the country music scene 26 years ago. Encouraged by that performance and driven by the fans, the duo decided to tour one last time for 2010’s The Judds: The Last Encore.

About the Grand Ole Opry
The Grand Ole Opry presents the best in country music live every week from Nashville, Tenn. Celebrating 85 years of entertainment, the Opry can be heard on 650 WSM-AM, SIRIUS XM Satellite Radio, and opry.com. The syndicated weekly program, America’s Opry Weekend, airs on country radio stations across America and on the Armed Forces Radio Network. The Grand Ole Opry is owned by Gaylord Entertainment (NYSE: GET), a Nashville-based hospitality and entertainment company that also owns and operates Gaylord Hotels. For more information, visit opry.com or www.gaylordentertainment.com

About Women Rock For The Cure
WRFTC was founded in 2007 by four friends with ties to the music industry: Jensen Sussman, Liz Lee Schullo, Rebekah Lee Beard and Tara Austin who all met through the Society of Leaders in Development (SOLID), an organization for young music business professionals. With the support of SOLID, the girls set out to organize an all-female, writer-in-the round benefit concert – later called Women Rock For The Cure – to help raise awareness and funds for SOLID’s Race For The Cure team. Since then, WRFTC has worked to support the Greater Nashville affiliate of Susan G. Komen For The Cure, raising money and increasing breast cancer awareness locally. After two amazing years of standing-room-only concerts, the founders decided to make WRFTC a non-profit organization. With the group’s new status, WRFTC is pinker than ever and always rockin’ to reach the organization’s vision; WRFTC is committed to fighting breast cancer by utilizing the passion, creativity and strength of the entertainment industry to find inspiring ways to raise money for Susan G. Komen for the Cure® Greater Nashville, as well as creating awareness programs for men and women of all ages. For more information, visit www.womenrockforthecure.org.

About the Greater Nashville Affiliate of Susan G. Komen for the Cure
The Greater Nashville Affiliate of Susan G. Komen for the Cure — along with those who generously support us with their talent, time and resources—is working to better the lives of those facing breast cancer in our community. We join more than 100,000 breast cancer survivors and activists around the globe as part of the world’s largest and most progressive grassroots network fighting breast cancer. Through events like the Komen Greater Nashville Race for the Cure, we have invested $2.5 Million in local breast health and breast cancer awareness projects in 11 counties over the past ten years. Up to 75 percent of net proceeds generated by the Komen Greater Nashville Affiliate stay in the Nashville area while the remaining income goes to the Susan G. Komen for the Cure Award and Research Grant Programs supporting research, awards and educational and scientific programs around the world. Join us by calling 615-383-0017 or visiting us online at www.komen-nashville.org.



Media Contacts:
Women Rock For The Cure and Susan G. Komen For The Cure
Jensen Sussman, Co-President Women Rock For The Cure
jensen.sussman@wmg.com / (615) 915-9318

Tuesday, October 05, 2010

Oak Ridge Boys to appear on Food Network's Diners, Drive-ins and Dives tonight 9 pm (cst) ! !

The Oak Ridge Boys to appear on Food Networks’ Diners, Drive-ins and Dives tonight 9 pm (CST)!!!
Hendersonville TN - The Oak Ridge Boys along with Diners, Drive-ins and Dives host Guy Fieri will cook up a variety of Mediterranean and Middle Eastern dishes based on centuries-old family recipes like Hummus, Baba Ghanoush, Falafel and Tabbouleh at Café Rakka tonight on the popular Food Network television show. This cozy, comfortable restaurant in Hendersonville, Tennessee, is fast becoming a Middle Tennessee favorite, serving signature dishes with flair and a perfect pick for Guy Fieri!

Diners, Drive-ins and Dives are popular again thanks to faithful baby boomers, a slew of younger fans and a whole new generation of owners. Join Guy Fieri as he visits classic "greasy spoon" spots, from a roadside shack in Tarpley, Texas to a Las Vegas sports bar with stellar stromboli.

Saturday, October 02, 2010

The Circle is Home Again, at The Opry!!

Search Amazon.com for grand old opryI must admit if you have anything to do with Nashville , and watching that devastating flood, Tonight's Concert meant a lot. The Circle is back where it belongs. Brad Paisley and Little Jimmy Dickens open up in song. Brad did a song by himself acoustically later in show, That was a real treat. Martina was one of few females performing, which was a bit unusual. Keth Urban did a real nice version of Radney Foster's "I'm In". I'm still humming it. There was some nice storys interspersed about people helping each other during the flood.
There were two songs done which were milestones just by the incredible musicianship. First , there was Charlie Daniels with Montgomery Gentry doing the "Devil Came Down To Georgia". The one big guy in Montgomery Gentry just swang his mike stand, like he usually does. His partner sang the Devil's part. Charlies Band was smoking ( no, not literally), they were really hot, I never saw Charlie play fiddle as well as He did tonight, He played an ending that was like nothing I have ever seen him doe, like He slowly crawled up the scale playing fiddle at full Speed and when they got to a certain spot, He just Stopped, almost like he was out of energy, but it was planned. He got the most reaction from the Crowd.
The last song was a guitar jam of "Working Man's Blues" . It was Brad Paisley, Keith Urban, Marty Stuart and Steve Wariner playing guitar and Ricky Scaggs on mandolin, great song and version. They were all good, but surprizing me a little were Marty Stuart and Steve Wariner. Always liked Wariner, but his lead was just plain incredible, jazzy sounding and Marty Stuart was playing some older timed type country, just very enjoyable. Here is a version of the same song from 2 years ago at The opry.

Friday, October 01, 2010

"Mississippi Rain" - Badhorse" - A Review

Reviewing a single is fun because I really get to concentrate on just one song. I just got this today, and am listening to the CD single for the first time. Man, I love that lead guitar , classic country, rock stuff. I had never heard of Badhorse, but they have quite a resume'.
It's raining tonight in Philly and I mean "Cats and Dogs".

This is a country ROCK ballad, that has a great set of hooks, The singer to this song has got a warm emotive voice. You know, had it not been for a wonderful person who sent me this, I would have never heard like this, This is a very good recording, with that Big Studio sound and some strings tastefully placed in the mix. The drums are real good, just love the guitar licks, really fit in with the vocals and do not overpower them, even the guy takes off, He has his own sound. This is definitely radio Friendly, a very hot performance with great vocals and the song itself, is a great vehicle for the mix. This is a very good band that has opened for the big guys , like the Sensational new Zac Brown. If they put out much more like this, These groups will be opening for Badhorse.
Well, I have to give it a thumbs up, very good song. With the right promotion and some luck, it's a winner. I say that with some Sarcasm, because I think We all know that the best song is not always picked, but my best wishes for BadHorse and "Mississippi Rain".
blogspot stats